howling troubles

idahowildlander

Ive been calling for about 20 years and killed a pile of coyotes in my time all using distress sounds. In my area it seems everyone is calling these days with distress sound so Ive been trying to switch things up with howling. I can get coyotes to answer interrogation howls all day long but if i switch to a distress of any kind everything shuts up it i go to a challenge howl same story if i keep on the interrogation type howl they just keep talking and wont come in. Any advice? I had 11 different coyotes talking today and never saw one of fires a shot.

Not sure how long you are on a stand, but this time of year I do a lot more coyote vocals and instead of 15 minutes, I'll stay 30 minutes or longer, depending on the response.
I also go to a higher pitch, less threatening call after the initial round of howls.

Ive been staying about 20-25 min. Ive tried letting them howl for awhile going to a cottontail, Snowshoe,coyote pup, fox pup, woodpecker......about any distress you can think of and they just shut up and never show as soon as i hit any type of distress. I just loaded a coyote pup howl and a coyote yodel howl of the foxpro i might try them when they start answering tomorrow and see what happens. This howling thing is for the most part new to me ive always just used distress type sounds.

Up here in the east I never ever use challenges,unless I get challeged by what I think is a dominant dog,and even then I have a sound that is a coyote pup barking and howling like a challenge,I also have a higher pitch challenge that sounds like a bata dog,it makes the big guy or gal real mad...
Also I tend to mainly use submissive sounds,breading sounds and higher pitch sounds,then I weave them togheter to sound like abunch of interlopers are in their territory eating their food and having their way with the local "honey"..