Cold weather clothes?

BJJ223

I’m new to the cold. In Idaho last weekend I hunted in the low 20’s F. I know, that is probably warm weather for some of you!

The biggest flaw in my clothing was my hands and legs.

My hands were so cold they felt like they were burning. What is your system of gloves / mittens so you can activate your trigger and calls? Do you use a muff to keep your shooting hand warm?

I had smartwool and regular BDU pants. It wasn’t horrible. But, my legs were cold. Anyone have a system of layering and better pants they like? I tend to do a lot of walking. So, I am hoping to find something easy to hike in.

Thanks.

Last edited:
I use wool mittens that fold back out of the way to reveal fingerless mittens. You can keep warmer with the mitten and quickly peel back the mitten where it grabs a velcro patch to stay out of the way of your now bare fingertips.

Insulated bibs with 2 way leg zippers to the waist or almost there. They can be opened for ventilation when moving. Goretex and thinsulate glomits like mentioned by hellgate and a pair of liner gloves inside them (l use electricians gloves). Because l operate the remote with my left hand l also cut off the last inch or so of that thumb of the glomit. This gets me down below zero but at times l have to tuck the left thumb into the flap with the other fingers and hold it between my palm and fingers to get it warm.
Some use hand warmers but years ago bowhunting l found that they are too warm and make my hands very cold when exposed.