What caliber rifle would you buy for elk?

imskippy

I would like to purchase a new rifle to use on deer and possibly elk if I get the chance what caliber is most common for this? I dont own any centerfire as of yet just a Rem 700ml in 50cal.

I'm making my first elk trip this year and I am building a 338 RUM. I can say however that I am building the rifle also for a trips to Africa and Alaska for big Bears in the next few years. If not for those other trips, I'd shoot my 7mm RUM or my .300 Win MAG. It is nice too, to have an excuse to build a new rifle. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif Having said all of that, I'm a rookie, there are people on this board with a LOT More knowledge about elk hunting than me.

The most popular elk rifles in Colorado are 7mm Rem Mag and 300 Win Mag. These are followed closely by the 30-06 and 308. Not too far behind is the 270 and then is a plethera of catridges from the Ooober Magnums to the large caliber like 338's and 45-70's. Some use down to the 243.

My statistics on rifle choice is from gross ammunition and rifle sales over a 5 year period of time from the mid 90's to around 2000. I don't think it has changed much since then according to the local hunting guides.

So my choice for ammo availability and great choice in rifles would be a 7mm Rem Mag or a 300 Win Mag.

Keep in mind that a lot of hunters suffer from recoil flinch using "Magnums" and if you are one of these your better choice would be a smaller gun that you could shoot accurately.... to some hunters that means that the 243 is the best choice.

Im not an elk hunter but I would probably go with a 30-06. Managable to shoot, and plenty of knockdown power. Just my .002