Ritchs Precision Guns

Predator Masters using UBB.threads ™ Infopop Corporation.
PM Gear Moon & Weather

Welcome to the Predator Masters Forums
Be sure to visit the main Predator Master website at





PM Gear
PM Gear
PM Gear
The Official Predator Masters Search Engine
Search Predator Masters

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#3292432 - 01/26/22 05:37 PM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: Powerfisher]
Plant.One Offline
Die Hard Member with a vengeance

Registered: 02/12/15
Posts: 4831
Loc: Oakland County, MI
you also mention that an extra power spring is causing it to not pick up rounds... thats kind of suspicious in itself. DPMS usually way over gasses those rifles, and you can usually run a LOT of buffer weight back there before they will fail to cycle. or do so in combination with an XP spring.

i would do a single round bolt hold open test, make sure that its catching the mag at the right point, etc. if its not doing that properly you may have a gas block alignment issue too as well as something rubbing wrong.



do give us a little more info on the rifle itself too - barrel length, gas system length, what type of stock (adjustable carbine, or fixed a1/a2), what weight buffer you currently have in there, etc etc.
_________________________
All reloading info shared is based on my experiences in my guns. Follow safe reloading practice and work up loads from published minimum data.
This disclaimer will self destruct in 10 seconds.


Top
#3292502 - 01/27/22 11:10 AM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: Powerfisher]
Powerfisher Offline
Die Hard Member II

Registered: 03/19/10
Posts: 1854
Loc: Washington
Thanks again for the replies. I have two magpul magazines and the issue happens with both of them. I also tried a metal magazine that I borrowed from a friend and it did not solve the problem. I am going to spend the weekend crawling through it, looking for burs and any other thing that may cause the problem and am going to clean it again using a chamber brush. I used gun scrubber and I will do it again and I will use break clean as well. I did the one shot test and the bolt does stay open but when I push the bolt release lever, it doesn't close all the way and I have to use forward assist. If the bolt is closed and I pull it back to chamber the first round, it shoots fine, but the next round needs forward assist. I do know that the buffer weight is not adjustable and that's why I am going to buy an adjustable one as well as new gas rings. I will assemble it dry, dry, dry and cycle the bolt manually a couple hundred times. I will also get as much information as I can about the upper and will let you know what I have. Thanks again!
_________________________
"Live to Shoot, Shoot to Live"
"Gun Control is being able to hit your target"


Top
#3292504 - 01/27/22 11:42 AM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: Powerfisher]
SlickerThanSnot Offline
PM senior

Registered: 01/31/14
Posts: 5761
Loc: stuck in a fence
have you tried any ammo that is not mil surplus?
_________________________
skeptical is what i am when told there is a dead coyote in certain far off pictures.

Top
#3292645 - 01/28/22 01:56 PM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: Powerfisher]
Plant.One Offline
Die Hard Member with a vengeance

Registered: 02/12/15
Posts: 4831
Loc: Oakland County, MI
Originally Posted By: Powerfisher
Thanks again for the replies. I have two magpul magazines and the issue happens with both of them. I also tried a metal magazine that I borrowed from a friend and it did not solve the problem. I am going to spend the weekend crawling through it, looking for burs and any other thing that may cause the problem and am going to clean it again using a chamber brush. I used gun scrubber and I will do it again and I will use break clean as well.



that eliminates the magazine.


Quote:
I did the one shot test and the bolt does stay open but when I push the bolt release lever, it doesn't close all the way and I have to use forward assist. If the bolt is closed and I pull it back to chamber the first round, it shoots fine, but the next round needs forward assist.


so the bolt wont even close all the way with no ammo being loaded?

have you taken the bolt carrier group apart and cleaned it super well? the chamber where the gas rings slide along tend to build up a lot of carbon, and will often need to be scraped out to remove it. solvents usually wont get it all, especailly if its heavily built up. this is why i mentioned using a ultrasonic cleaner if you have one. TBH i think my Ultrasonic tank is one of the best small gun parts cleaning tools i own.

field strip the bcg - take the bolt, cam pin, etc out - and really give it a once over. you might be surprised what comes out from inside of it.


Quote:
I do know that the buffer weight is not adjustable and that's why I am going to buy an adjustable one as well as new gas rings. I will assemble it dry, dry, dry and cycle the bolt manually a couple hundred times. I will also get as much information as I can about the upper and will let you know what I have. Thanks again!


do you have an adjustable "carbine" stock? or a fixed a1/a2? that will help us determine the base weight. you can always take it out and pop it on a scale to find out what you have.


do note, that with the DMPS LR308 system, you CANNOT use a standard ar-15 buffer, the 308 carbine buffer is SHORTER than a standard AR-15 Carbine buffer due to the standard buffer tube length but longer BCG.

i would not waste your $ on an adjustable weight buffer system for it, if you're gonna upgrade at all, go straight for an XH from slash's - once you have your cycling issue sorted out anyway. the system isnt under gassed (trust me, its a dpms 308 ar... lol), and is likely over gassed unless the block isnt aligned properly.
_________________________
All reloading info shared is based on my experiences in my guns. Follow safe reloading practice and work up loads from published minimum data.
This disclaimer will self destruct in 10 seconds.


Top
#3292999 - 01/31/22 10:39 AM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: SlickerThanSnot]
Powerfisher Offline
Die Hard Member II

Registered: 03/19/10
Posts: 1854
Loc: Washington
Yes. Winchester .308 180 gr.
_________________________
"Live to Shoot, Shoot to Live"
"Gun Control is being able to hit your target"


Top
#3293000 - 01/31/22 10:56 AM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: Plant.One]
Powerfisher Offline
Die Hard Member II

Registered: 03/19/10
Posts: 1854
Loc: Washington
The stock is an adjustable carbine. I have disassembled my BCG and cleaned it thoroughly. I do not have an ultra sonic cleaner. There is still some carbon build up in it and I did not scrape it. That will be my next move. Thank you for that tip. From what iv'e gathered, it's some deep carbon fouling and/or a break in period. The whole rifle is going through a total deep clean and then I will cycle the action, dry, dry, dry manually a couple hundred times to break it in. I will report my next range results.

Thanks everyone!


Edited by Powerfisher (01/31/22 10:59 AM)
_________________________
"Live to Shoot, Shoot to Live"
"Gun Control is being able to hit your target"


Top
#3293073 - 02/01/22 10:11 AM Re: Have to use forward assist [Re: Powerfisher]
baitpile Online
Die Hard Member

Registered: 02/06/15
Posts: 652
Loc: IA
Make sure to get the inside of the bolt carrier scraped out good, as well as the cone on the rear of the bolt. These have worked very well for me for that task.

https://botach.com/kz-bolt-buddy-carbon-scraper-for-7-62mm-bcgs/
_________________________
"We have Right on our side"

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2



Moderator:  SnowmanMo 

© Predator Masters™, All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.