Insight on a versatile caliber

Originally Posted By: FrankmBalancing performance, cost, availability, etc and a 223 is a very well rounded cartridge. what bullet would you choose for Fox

I have been shooting: Federal American Eagle 5.56 NATO Ammunition XM855 FMJ 62 Grains.
I have been shooting for many years. It is good in a mild wind, Fur friendly.
It has a good crimp and is good for 200 yards, plus. Cheap ammo. Bolt or AR.

Do you not like the idea of 55-65 gr Sierra Game Kings in 223? Or do you like the idea of pointy plastic bullets?

17 hornet sounds like a crazy idea in a thread with a title asking about versatile calibers and you dont reload ammo and you wont even be able to use that peas shooter in restricted areas... pass me what you're smoking.

Originally Posted By: Rock KnockerDo you not like the idea of 55-65 gr Sierra Game Kings in 223? Or do you like the idea of pointy plastic bullets?

17 hornet sounds like a crazy idea in a thread with a title asking about versatile calibers and you dont reload ammo and you wont even be able to use that peas shooter in restricted areas... pass me what you're smoking.
Are you going to give input or just indirectly complain? I asked because I’m new to it. I’m not too concerned with the restricted areas, I can borrow a 17WSM for down there

So if you aren't worried about restriction why would your first choice be 17 hornet?

I've never seen ammo on the shelf and it's the same caliber as my first airgun I got as a kid, heavies bullets are 20gr? Maybe 25gr? Not versatile at all, barely passable for coyotes in perfect conditions.

This fox was shot 3 times with 65 SGK.
49229269933_86940905e6_c.jpg

I would be perfectly comfortable shooting this ammo at a bobcat with a $1000 pelt or a trophy whitetail, that's versatility.