How do you guys Scout. Methods?

Sircatsalott

Hi guys.
I'm a Newbie that can't seem to get the stars to align for me. Here are some questions I am milling around. I have a few ideas but wondered what your opinions are.

So my questions are ones that probably get asked all the time but I obviously don,t have em down yet. I read the forums but it must not be soaking in.

-How do you scout?

-Everyone says make sure there are coyotes where you calling. Well Duh, obviously
But what steps do you take to ensure you are calling where the coyotes are?
Last time I went out I saw lots of tracks and turds but I don't think they were there? I
think that that is where they hunt at night and that they are gone by morning? I cant hunt at night here.
-
Do the seasons really make much difference in how you call?

Thanks

For starters, you and I share a tough state to call. Right now the conditions can be tough to have a lot of success so do not get discouraged this time of year.

The best way to scout is to do just that, go out and call. As you are out there more you will start to pick up on things like scat and such.
This time of year most of my success comes from coyote vocals, although distress will still work. If you are doing any type of vocals right now you should be getting responses back if there are coyotes in the area.

If you are calling and not seeing sign and not hearing coyotes its a good idea to move to the next valley or drainage. Keep in mind most coyote hunters in the west put on hundred of miles for coyotes.

First light always nets more for me.
Cows do equal coyotes and dead cows means even more.
Tough time of year to start and vocals work better for me too.