Best 223 Round for Mountain Lion

donamese

It has always been a dream to drop a mountain lion. Labor day weekend I was doing archery deer, turned and 40 yds away was a young lion coming to get a drink at the water hole I was watching. He dropped back to 60-70 yds before I could get the bow drawn, I took a shot with my 1911 but missed. Anyhow, now I have the itch to call one in and be prepared for it this time.

I have a Bushmaster AR and a Remington 7mm Magnum. The 7mm I believe is quite a bit of overkill for a lion so I was planning on the 223. I live in AZ so will likely try the night hunting since one of the units is only 40 miles from my house. Estimating the shot to be 50-75yds.

What is the best 223 bullet to use for mountain lions? Or should I just use the 7mm or a shotgun instead?

If you go with the .223, I would probably try to find a 70 grain controlled expansion or ballistic tip. I would use the 7mm with deer loads, but thats just personall preferance. I am by far no expert, so at some point, someone might just come along and give you something better.

Ok, I have little to zero experience with mountain lions, so here go's.

A couple of manufactured ammo choices come to mind.

64gr Winchester RazorBack XT
64gr Winchester PowerPoint
62gr Federal Fusion
60gr Federal loaded with Nosler Partitions
55gr Federal loaded with Barnes TSX's
55gr Barnes Vortex TSX

Chupa