.223 AI info

BigKev

Hi guys, my old 700SPS in .223 Rem is about at the end of its useful barrel life. I have a wild hair to pop a .223 AI barrel on it when I re-barrel. Who here has some good practical (not read about on the Internet and regurgitated) experience with them.
I am trying to figure out optimal barrel length, twist rate and so on.
Secondly, has anyone tried to use standard .223 Rem Lee collet dies on the cases with any success. Since there isn't any difference in overall length between the two rounds, shouldn't matter on the dies either...but thats just my guess.

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks

Kev

I was thinking about that, but the lee dies just strictly neck size only, there is no shoulder contact on them. I am going to get in touch with lee tech support and pick their brains on the phone tomorrow...I personally can't see where it would make any difference since the OAL is 2.260 on both cartridges.

I dont think so, but I am no expert.
imagesCAHELJ7J.jpg

I think there is a guy in the classifieds selling a new rem barrel in 223ai with dies for 140.Look back a couple of pages,thought about it myself but just had my done so I didnt need it.Bobby

I made one about a year and a half ago with a Savage 112 action and ER Shaw barrel that came factory in .223 before I had it rechambered to AI. It has been a whopping success. I like it so much that I rarely shoot my regular .223 rifles anymore in favor of it. Brass last a long time too as I don't think I have lost a single case yet. It took me a lot of years to get around to putting together a .223 AI but I never plan on being without one again. It just does so much so well.

I have (3) different .223ai and love them. They all have 8 twist barrels.