whats the max distance for an 18x scope???

DRENALINEjunky

i am just getting into longer ranger shooting and had ordered a barska 6-24 and was thinking of taking it back becase of the comments i got about it on here. but i was thinking of lowering my power down do 18x. whats the furthest you guys can consistanly hit pdogs and ghogs with this power?

Well hitting them consistently has little to do with your optics and more to do with your ballistics and skill at a certain range.

If you hit a Pdog at 1200 yds 1/10 times I would say your scope is just fine...but your ballistics aren't reliable to do it 50% of the time. Scope has nothing to do with it.

If you can see it, and your bullet will go that far, then why can't you hit it?

usually the answer is ballistics.

Originally Posted By: drewliciousWell hitting them consistently has little to do with your optics and more to do with your ballistics and skill at a certain range.

If you hit a Pdog at 1200 yds 1/10 times I would say your scope is just fine...but your ballistics aren't reliable to do it 50% of the time. Scope has nothing to do with it.

crazy.gif
crazy.gif
crazy.gif

If your still thinking Barska your wasting your $$. Buy a mid - grade scope and things will be much better. 18x will work well. Takes more than just power on a scope to make the longer shoots.

for a cheap scope get that elite 3200 5-15x. its a real nice scope. very clear. you dont need a 18-24x scope. a lot of the time if you havent spent a ton of money on it the glass isnt clear. makes it hard to see what your shooting if it isnt very clear.

I'm gonna look at the numbers. A gopher with a 1x scope is a pretty easy shot at 50 yards and makeable at 100 yards so you take a 18x scope and that means that the "optics" should be good for 900 -1800 right? Whether you, your gun, conditions etc are up to the task is another matter.

CB