Randy Anderson Howler Pack?

Texforce

Has anyone used this, and if so, how did you like it? I have plenty of experience w/turkey diaphragm calls, but have never used one for howling. Is there much of a learning curve going from yelping to howling? Thanks for any input. Good huntin'

It takes a little time to get used to using them, but if you have a lot of experience with turkey diaphragms then it shouldn't take long at all to learn. I like the sound that they produce better than the open reed howlers randy anderson has. The diaphragms sound more like a coyote to me.

Depends on the howler and who is using it. I've always got good results from cowhorn and buffalo horn howlers, so I will continue using them. If you like a diaphragm, by all means use it.

Originally Posted By: TexforceHas anyone used this, and if so, how did you like it? I have plenty of experience w/turkey diaphragm calls, but have never used one for howling. Is there much of a learning curve going from yelping to howling? Thanks for any input. Good huntin'

A few weeks ago, there was a pretty extensive thread regarding what calls make the most realistic sounds, etc, etc. It ended up being more heated than what was needed. Hopefully that topic is over and done with and will not start up again here. The bottom line is that you should use the call that YOU feel most comfortable with and can sound good with.

As an experienced turkey caller with a diaphragm, you will not have much of a problem learning how to make coyote vocals. Just like for turkey, you will find that there is a lot of difference between one brand and another, between how many reeds it has, and how the latex is stretched (among other things). After some practice with the Anderson diaphragms, try other brands and you'll settle on one or two. I bet possumal tried lots of howlers before he settled on cowhorn/buffalo horn.