Nosler Accubond or Partition in .243

Bitman

Need a little advice.
I'm tired of shooting my 7mm Mag at whitetail deer.
I'm going to the Ruger Hawkeye Ultra Light in .243
I've been reloading for a few years, but only experience with the .243 is Varmint loads. I'm thinking of using a 100 grain bullet for deer under 200 yds. Which bullet would you folks recommend? The Accubond, Partition, or something different?
I hunt state land, and don't like to track a deer.
Thanks, Dave

Killed a buck once with a 100 grain partition. But the .243 dose'nt drive bullets fast enough in my opinion to justify their cost for use on deer. Ive shot clean through more bucks than I can count with 85 grain Sierra Gamekings, they work well and then I'm able to have one load for all my shooting, sight the rifle in once and go hunting, and not be worried about shooting expensive bullets at coyotes and even smaller stuff like squirrels. Trust me, spend a summer smokin squirrels and other varmints with your .243 and by the time deer season rolls around the confidence you will have in your rifle will be a great benefit to you.

Any non varmit type bullet from 80gr to 100 will do the job on dear,without going to partition or bonded bullets.I his a Row Buck years ago with a 105gr Speer PSP ,in the chest cavity,and it expeled all it's energy in the animal (45lbs)with pieces of the bullet under the skin on the far side.He was dead before he hit the ground (3100fps)to stabilize it was a hot load.

Originally Posted By: nitisconsidering there is no such thing as a 6mm accubond I would opt for the partition or maybe the new etip

I didn't even look to see if it was available in 6mm, just assumed it was.
Thanks for all the advice.

Shot two bucks in North Carolina last week with 100gr. Partitions and very pleased. Erickg is right, always fear the fellow in deer camp that only uses one rifle and knows how to use it.

Originally Posted By: 1badshee95gr B-tips works great for me.