NIKON MONARCH 3 OR VORTEX VIPER HS HELP?

KyScott

Gonna buy a new scope for my M70 Coyote light 270wsm. I have it narrowed down to the 2 listed below for my budget. Which one has the best glass? Which would you pick and why if you have experience with either. I have to say I did have a Monarch 2.5x10x42 and wasnt real impressed with it. It was a nice scope but not what I thought it would be. I have no experience with the new Monarch 3 or any Vortex scopes. Thanks ahead for the help!

Nikon Monarch 3 4x16x50(44mm actual size)
FOV 100YDS 6.3-25.2
Tube 1 inch
Eye relief 4 inches
length 14.7 inches
Weight 19.4 oz
Custom XR turret(doesnt really matter to me)
$449.00 New

Vortex Viper HS 4X16X50(50mm actual size)
FOV 100yds 7.4-27.4
Tube 30mm
Eye relief 4 inches
length 13.7 inches
Weight 22 oz(seems a little heavy)
$399.00 New(Seems like an awsome deal)

Originally Posted By: crow sniperI would go with the Nikon between those two scope.
The vortex might seem like a deal but they seldom are.

What he said. I WAS a huge Vortex fan and then I got burned so there may be hard feelings. Once I started looking around I found better optics for the same price. Go Nikon.

Originally Posted By: FairChase93Originally Posted By: crow sniperI would go with the Nikon between those two scope.
The vortex might seem like a deal but they seldom are.

What he said. I WAS a huge Vortex fan and then I got burned so there may be hard feelings. Once I started looking around I found better optics for the same price. Go Nikon.

I'm a HUGE Nikon fan. I have a bunch and they have never given a speck of trouble. They are good glass for the price.

As for the Vortex, they have begun to have a pretty good following. But they are a young company. There isn't enough of a track record there for me to depend on them. Remember that your hunting days are limited. Don't take a chance on a scope without a long track record of reliability.

Neither...