I'm a newbie, so be gentle!!!

Chris623

I just purchased my first call. It's a Swift made by Carver. Never hunted coyote before. So my newbie question is: After you shoot a coyote, what do you do with it? (If this site is an example, I do know the first "required" is to take a pic and post it here!) Is the pelt worth saving? Surely the meat isn't any good for human consumption............unless you're starving. So, other than the sport of removing a predator from the gene pool, what do you do with the carcass?

Originally Posted By: Chris623So you just shoot'em and stack'em/line'em up?????

shoot em, line em up, stack em up, hang em up, skin em, dont skin em, make jerky out of em, cut em up for stew meat.

you kill em, you can do whatever you want with em.

no rules. good luck and have fun.

He-he, I don't think my little woman would eat "dog" jerky or "dog" stew! I ate dog in Vietnam, but didn't after I found out what it was!!!!!!!!! Are the skins worth the trouble to tan?

I don't honestly know if they "fur" up enough here in central Oklahoma. Never paid that much attention. Might just call'em for the sport of callin'.

You might get a few that have a good fur. But most that I shot either had mange or just not great looking coats. Have seen few good looking ones though.

Well, they do "fur up" in WY. I still use my 300 WSM on them, I care about calves not coyotes, and a 110 gr hollow point seems to be just enough gun to tip them over. You do have to wait 3-5 minutes for the parts to quit falling before you go get your pictures.

Originally Posted By: WyYoteKillerWell, they do "fur up" in WY. I still use my 300 WSM on them, I care about calves not coyotes, and a 110 gr hollow point seems to be just enough gun to tip them over. You do have to wait 3-5 minutes for the parts to quit falling before you go get your pictures.

thumbup.gif