Hounds

Hi Steven,

I'm guessing this won't be a very high volume place for a while. Because of the history of this board, it's attracting way more callers than houndsmen. But, like the old saying goes, build it and they will come.

In the mean time, why don't you give us a little history about you? What kind of hounds and how many do you run? Do you hunt just coyotes or do you strike out after other predators too?

Glad you found a home here Steven.

Later
Randy

Hi Randy I Hunt Coyotes With Hounds In NH
I Have Four Croghan Breed Walker Hounds
That Are Good Hounds They Run To Catch And
They Fight Hard&Bay hard To. I Have Been
Hunting Coyotes For Six Or Seven Years Now
And Have Real Good Luck Getting Coyotes.
I Tryed Calls And Had No Luck. I Hope This
Site Works Out And We All Can Get Along.

Thanks Steve&The Thorn
Mt Hounds.

I've been hunting coyotes ith running walkers for about 8 years or so, and always wanted to try calling. I've been hanging around here for about a month now picking up some info. and just finally had to join in.

Good Luck All

Not too bad of hunting. Had some good chases with the hounds but the wind and ice have been pretty bad this year. Lost my best female to a pickup after about a 9 mile chase when the coyote just had to cross a hiway. Good chase though, right on his tail and smokein him till he denned up.

Nine miles? You must have had to cross a lot of fences during that chase. How did you do it? Do you follow in a truck or do you hoof it? If you had more dogs on chase, would the coyote have come to bay sooner? Nine miles?
Do you use a rifle or a club? What do you do when they go to den?

coy_dogs,

How do you deal with the private property issue? I know here in Minnesota we have some serious issues with that. Most folks are OK with running the dogs across their property but some are NOT! Bad part is the dogs can't read!

Randy