.243 or .308

realtree hunter

ok, i have been wanting a .243 after a friend of mine put my "to little for deer" theory to shame. that thing does some nasty damage and deer just kinda stumble and fall. Now ive come across a 308 in a remington model 7 for 750, about a hundred bucks cheaper than the same rifle in 243, at least the ones ive found. Heres my delima, i have no experiences with a 308, other than the good things i have heard about them. how does recoil compare to the 243? how about range and accuracy? what bullet weight for deer/critters? ive read alot on here about a 243, but never see much on a 308 but maybe i wasnt payin enough attention. i would like to have a low recoil easy to carry deer rifle as the 300 is gettin heavy (yeah i know
cry.gif
)would like some info/ideas to help make up my mind. Now just to throw a wrench in, i just got my hands on an older rem 700 adl for 300 bucks, so my other dilema is should i get a new rifle or just take the adl to the smith and have some work done to it? say shorter length of pull, rechamber, mercury tubes,...was thinkin 25-06 or maybe 30-06 as i already have a 700 bdl in 270 which i am very happy with, i just couldnt pass up the adl.

I'd go with the .308 if you are going to use it on big game (deer). Yes the .243 will kill deer and in fact I dropped a cow elk in its tracks last week with one. I only used it because I haven't finished building my project gun and the .243 was all I had. I think the .308 is better because you can shoot heavier bullets. Both will do the job on deer but the .308 will do it further.

Originally Posted By: realtree hunterwhat weight bullets do you use or recommend in the 308?

Anything between 150gr-180gr for the .308 and you got fur on the ground, obviously heavier does it better when talking farther. The 165gr Sierra Game King is scary accurate and has killed a few critters since it's inception.

Chupa