222 remington coyote loads

idahowildlander

Anyone have any favorite coyote loads for the 222 remington. So far i have shot 13 with the 50gr sierra blitz kings and am not really happy with the results. I have been getting very mixed results some just drop others spin a few have hit the ground got back up and ran a little ways. All have been good broadside shots "ive been picky trying to get consistent results". Anyone have a favorite bullets/load combo for coyotes in the 222. all shots have been 200 and shorter. I am looking to save as many pelts as i can.

You might want to try going up 5 grains (10%) in bullet weight. You can probably get a better BC and have about the same velocity (increased energy) at 200 yards. Might help "anchor" them better. Sierra's 55Spitzer has shown good results in accuracy in my .222. But, I have no coyote experience with that load only chucks. The chucks I have shot with the 55 grainer were suitably impressed on their end.

I shot a 222 for 19 years. On coyotes, it is a 200 yard gun at best. Actually the range needs to be around 150 to get good results.

Anyways.

18.5 gr. 4198
55 gr. hornady sp

Randy

I disagree with the guy who says 200 yards at most, and more like 150.

I've killed 15 or so with the 40g vmax or NBT at 3400-3500fps and I've shot most from 100-300 yards, never lost a single one. I'd say half droped on the spot, the other half ran 20-30 yards, the 40g's exited 75% of the time, if not, they at least make it to the chest area and destroy them. With a 40g at 3400-3500 and a 225yd zero, its a good 300 yard cartridge, provide you do your part and put the bullet where it suppose to go.

Anyways, I have a 700 ADL w/24" and it shoots wonderfully. I wont say all day long, but it shoots the 40g vmax or nbt w/21g IMR4198 into .25" at 100 yards, 3 shots from a bench often enough to not be surprised anymore. I use win cases and cci small rifle primers, OAL of 2.150".