BSA scopes. Any opinions?

Yup, In general my experience with 3 of them is they Suck....Just my Opinion. I have no experience with the exact one your looking for but the other 3 (1 bought - 2 given to me)...ended up in the burnin barrel.

Maybe the one you are referring to is ok, but mine didn't have enough adjustment up/down and couldn't keep POI too well.

I have Leuopy's, Bushy's, Weavers, Redfields,Burris, and I like the Bushnell 3200 elites the best of all the scopes I have. I have the 5x15x40 AO on my .17 HMR and can see the bullet holes at 100 yards easily w/ my bad old eyes. Just my unadulterated opinion..means nothing to anyone else...lol

Last edited:
I'm shooting one of the BSA 6 by 24 illuminated mil dots on a 243 that has been doing fine for the last five years. It's not a bright as some of the expensive brands, but for a hundred bucks has killed a bunch of ground squirrels and a few coyotes.

Mines on a Remington 700 VLS and was bought new. Accuracy is fine and the adjustments are repeatable. It'll never be a Leupold, but it works fine.

As much as I'd like more expensive optics I simply couldn't afford them at the time. This scope along with an old Tasco 8 by 32 target dot scope that I use for summer ground squirrels on the 204 and for accuracy testing has taken lots of small game over the years.

700vls.jpg

I got a BSA 6-24 when I got my 22-250. I only got it till I could save up and get a good scope but I've decided to keep it. I have given the scope a hard time and its stll zeroed. After you get up past 18 the target is a little fuzzy but for $90 you cant get any better. I plan on getting another one for a 243 soon.

I have 2 Sweet 17's and have had NO issues with any of them, I have the high dollar scopes and these guys work extremely well for the price.