any of you hunt yotes in alabama or georgia,help

d2admin

Administrator
I was just wondering if any of you guys hunt in georgia or alabama,and if so,Do you change hunting tactics compared to hunting in other states? The land I hunt is small mountains mostly timber with a few small clear cuts.[public land] I am also new at this and have'nt been able to call a yote in yet,but if I just sit,I hear them howling 1 to 2 hours before dark almost every time i am in the woods.any tips or info would be appreciated,thanks

Jeffro,
I have hunted Ga and Al in the past. I change my tactic some but not because of the state im in but the area or terain I hunt. Same is true when I go to Ky. The only diffrence maybe the pressure or hunting pressure they get. The main reason for change is the kind of area im hunting, hardwoods,swamps,clearcuts,thickets,fields. I try to go into an area with a good map, take a look around and find the key areas that I think will hold coyotes. Food sorce, cover, hunting pressure and time of year, play a big part in this.

I will do my scouting first, if your hearing them howl then you go a good start. I try to find were they are feeding, beding, and spending there day time hrs. Find the travel lanes. Then look for areas to make your set ups, they like to travel fences, saddles, reviens, ect. I pick my set ups and return later to do my calling. Also note the wind derections and stand sights on your map.

If they get alot of pressure then change your calling tactics, use diffrent sounds, If you can find the scat then you can get some idea of what they are feeding on. This time of year I do alot of howling. I open my stands with two lone howls and wait. If I dont get a responce then I go to the destress pup sounds. Pup sounds are good right now. Or I may go with a high pitched destressed bird sound. I like the higher piched sounds better, but everyone is diffrent.