Shots stringing to down to the right.....help

scsims

First off I should give you a history of this rifle. It's a Rem 700 .270. I never could shoot better tha 3" @ 100 until I began to reload years ago and I was able to get it shooting about an inch fairly consistenly.

This winter I got bored and I decided to pillar and glass bed the wood stock, floated the barrel channel and lapped the lugs to tighten up the groups a little. I took care in the bedding to ensure there were no stess points. I had a layer of tape on sides bottom and front of the recoil lug.

I put her all back together and this is the way it shot.

DSCF0514.jpg

DSCF0513.jpg

I might add this was a new batch of reloads with my original recipe except I accidently seated the bullets too long and they are being pushed into the lands. Could that cause the stringing or is it something I did with the bedding or lapping the lugs?

I appreciate you alls advice.

Thanks,
Scott

I'm not an expert when it comes to bolt guns, but the
Quote:
I had a layer of tape on sides bottom and front of the recoil lug.

causes a flag to go up.

I've found that tape of any kind will generally stretch or deform under pressure, especially when heat is being applied.

If you chamber heat is radiating down to this tape, it's possible that this is allowing the barrel to move in the direction of the pressure that is being applied by the bolt.

Turtle, he is talking about using tape on the recoil lug surfaces when he did the bedding. It's common practice to do this but the tape is removed prior to seating the action in the stock once everything has cured.

Could be that the action screws are contacting the pillars during recoil when fired, so check that, you may need to slightly enlarge the holes in the pillars.