17 hmr vs. 17 rem

txdiamond17

Hey guys, yall have a great site. I am new to this predator hunting. I have always hunted deer, birds, etc. but just finally tried hunting coyotes and am hooked. I have a 250, 223, and 243 but have an itch for another gun. I have searched but really can't make heads or tails between the hmr and rem. All I ever see around here are the hmrs. I have shot one a few times and am impressed with it. I normally carry the 223, would the HMR do for yotes and cats?

There is no comparison. The 17 HMR is a good squirrel gun with proper shot placement, The 17 Rem is probably the premier fur gun for shooting coyotes.

My 17 hmr has made one shot kills on 2 yotes and 3 fox,numerous coons,rabbits,jacks,porkies,ect ect.Within 100 yards the HMR is a great,fur friendly round.Its my goto spotlighting rig where i very rarley get a shot outside of its effective range.Saying its only good for squirrels proves you have very little field experience with the round,if you havnt used it dont knock it.The 22 rem allows greater shot distance and much more delivered energy,but yotes and fox dont need much when properly shot.All 5 of the dogs I have killed with my hmr were killed with a front shoulder/boiler room shot,one fox ran about 100 yards,the rest dropped within 50.

Last edited:
Yes Nonya, I can believe that. You are a pretty good hunter, evidenced by the post you have made here. But the question was to examine the 17 HMR vs the 17 Rem, asked by a new member of the coyote hunting world. There is no comparison in the two. The 17 Rem will flat out stomp the 17 HMR in all departments except for taking small edible game at close ranges.

I have both and have used both extensively in its respective departments.

My hmr isnt fur friendly on squirrels it flat opens them up, it would be a good gun for fox though. 17 rem is faster and has the nock down power needed for consistant killing of coyotes, not to many runners.

Quote: