JS caller + night calling= no success

Skinny Shooter

This is a multi-forum post. I am new to predator calling and had purchased a JS caller last year but never really got out. I also have an Olt Flat reed call. Just got back tonite from hunting in a slight drizzle.
Was out for 4 hours and started just before dusk. We saw nothing. I used both calls at different times and spent about 20 mins at each spot. We only got to hit 7 spots.
I am not sure about the freqency of my calling and how long I should call each time before stopping.
With the JS caller do you just let it rip starting out soft and then increasing volume over time? With the mouth call it sure would be hard to keep it going for more than a couple of minutes. I no there are coyotes in our area, maybe I just wasn't in the right spot.
During daylight, my buddy covered the long distances with his .223 TC super 14 and I was out near the caller in my Shaggie camo with a 12ga.
Any thoughts are appreciated.

Skinny Shooter; You did nothing wrong my friend, when you use your JS Caller start out about almost 1/2 on your volume, for about 5min or so then lower down for about 3min then go to 1/2 volume for another 5min and keep going. I stay at a stand for about 15 to 20 min. Then I move on to another stand about a mile away or so. and continue to do the same thing over and over. You also might want to use hand calling it always seems to work the best for me. Just think of it this way just how long can a rabbit cry for till it gets tired or eaten up
smile.gif

------------------
Jason's Gun Room
Quialty Custom Gunsmithing

Thanx Jason.
Someone mentioned that the Eastern dogs take longer to come in, here in Pa. I should hang out for a good 1/2 hour.

Am going out solo this Sat am with the mouth call and JS caller. I can hardly contain myself with anticipation. The woods surrounding my home were logged last year so I will be hunting the overgrown logging trails and clearings.