How did you get started calling predators?

Lonny

I am curious how you got started in predator calling. Did you read about it? Did a parent or relative get you going? or were you self taught? Maybe these boards got you going.

Did it start out for you as a way to possibly make a few bucks on pelts or was it something to fill in the spots between other hunting seasons? Anyway, tell me how you got going. Thanks

------------------

I am from a hunting family, so all kinds on "normal" hunting were routine. I was an avid reader, so I probably read about calling someplace. I ordered a Johnny Stewart call that played 45 rpm records, and tried it! Dad didn't think it would work. After he watched (from a distant hilltop) a fox come several hundred yards across open farmland to me, he was convinced! That was about 1960.
View

------------------
Critr
www.SaguaroSafaris.com
fea6c171.jpg

Was always into shooting at paper back in California, and as I got older I started to hunt big game and birds, when I met Jon several years ago he got me into hunting predators and showed me everything that he new, Jon has been hunting predators since the 1960's Jon and I hunt every chance we get.

------------------
yotewalk.gif

Jason's Gun Room
Quality Custom Gunsmithing

When I was 11 I raised homing pigeons, and had a cat problem. That's when I first started night hunting, too. About 20 cats later I discovered crows. By the time I was 16 I was hunting fox, and it's only gotten better ever since.

A few,many,lots of years ago a deer hunting buddy showed me his cure for boredom while on deer stand.

I just had to "has me one of dees."
I picked up a Lohman and stuck it in the pocket of my hunting coat. One day while on stand, fishing around in the pocket feeling for something to eat I pulled out the call.

It didn't look like food so what the heck. After hacking and spitting out a mouth full of pocket lint I figured it was better to blow on the darn thing, than suck through it.