Back from my desert mule deer hunt.

d2admin

Administrator
Well it didnt last as long as I would have liked , but it was a great time.

I had been scouting a pretty good track for a couple of months, never had laid eyes on the begger but had been monitoring his sign and had made few trips in his area to check for his routes and feeding areas.

I never got real agressive with my scouting as I did not want to take the chance of causing him to change locals on me, but had gotten a pretty good idea of his bedding and feeding area.
I did not get a chance to hunt on opening day due to other commitments, and Saturday started out really slow as well.

I have a good friend who is kind of a local mule deer hunting legend around these parts who has had a pretty rough year.
He had a bout with cancer and radiation and finally chemo , things were looking pretty good on that field when a few weeks ago he came down with double pneumonia.

He spent two weeks in the hospital and was feeling pretty low about life in general and deer hunting in particular.
I was staying at his place for my hunt as it was considerably closer to my unit,on friday eve he was trying to figure out how he could get out and hunt since he could only walk with a cane and was weaker than a sick kitten.

So I volunteered to take him saturday wich was the second day of my hunt. Not much we could do with him in his condition but I drove him around till about noon when he started to fade considerably and I took him back to the house .
He was feeling kinda bad that I had not gotten to even start my hunt yet as I only have a 10 day hunt in my unit.
I tried to tell him that I enjoyed BS'ing with him and seeing him up and around as much as I would shooting another mule deer, but I could tell he still felt bad for taking up my time.

I had decided to hunt a horse back this year and had adopted a mustang from the BLM a few months ago to make into a hunting horse for my desert hunts.