new with questions

d2admin

Administrator
Hello I've been reeding the posts here for a couple months now. I've been calling for 10 years now with limited sucess. I call in a heck of alot more then I kill, but I'm slowly getting better.

Wiley E, when you say you like calling in short spurts then waiting for 3 minutes then calling again. what do you classify as short spurts, 4-6 squeels on the preadator call or 15-20 seconds worth?

I've been doing the 15-20 second thing but have been thinking of changing that. I have a fenced in yard at home with a huge rabit population there. I live at the edge of a small town and all theese are conintails(sp?). Well anyways at least once a month my lab will catch one and they very seldom screem more then 3-4 times and some of them get lucky and get away. Some are higher piched and some lower pitched but whatever pitch screem the rabit makes it dont change pitch. This is why I was thinking of changing.

I have never tried howling. what would be a good howler to get and a tape to practice with?

[This message has been edited by Jasonm (edited 04-12-2001).]

Hey Jasonm,

What part of MN are you from?

Ryan

------------------
ryanspheasantlogo.jpg

http://www.predatormasters.com

Jasonm,You definitely need to get a howler your success will greatly improve.When I am at a stand I do just the basics with a howler.I start with a couple lone howls,wait about 3-5 minutes then go into a short series of distress calls(rabbit).My series are usually a minute or so of calling then 2-3 minutes of quite then repeated for 15 minutes if there are no takers I howl again wait about 3-4 more minutes then move to my next stand.I repeat this process through out the day,I make about 10 stands from sun up to noon.As far as calls go I use a Sceery howler,and Sceery AP-6 variable call, and AP-7 open reed call they work grrrrreat.
smile.gif

JasonM boy this is kind of weard we got the same first name.
smile.gif