hunting from trestand at night????help

buzzbait

i am new at coyote hunting,only been 3 times,first 2 times i walked in on them early in the morning,only to have them spot me first,3rd time i took a buddy and got there 2 hours before sunup.after 15 min. my buddy said hed be rite back,i thought he had to pee.2 hours later at sunup i start calling,here comes one comming straight toward me,as i got him in scope he takes off,im like wow what happened?then here comes my buddy boppin up the field,seems he had to go for coffee,boy was i peedoff.anyhow i built a tree stand neer where they come out at.ive learned a lot from everyone here,so im gonna night hunt them,i got some dykum to put on my spotlights,should i leave them on the whole time im calling,i also have decoys.and another thing id like to know is i have 6 different fields to hunt in now with permision to build stands in trees,i have the wood so its not gonna cost me nothing.is this a good idea??? hunt a different place every month or so,will they eventually come back in after so long?? like i said im a rookie but im learning,lol.ive killed deer but have never had a rush like i did when one came rite to me.im getting close lol.thanks for any help.

I think you'd be better off on the ground. You have to be able to see pretty good around you at night. You never know for sure where they're gonna come out. If you don't get that light in their eyes, they'll bust you.
If you do call from the treestand, make sure the call is up there with you. Otherwise, you will have trouble catching their eyes with the light. They have to be looking fairly close to your position in order for the light to reflect. Oh, yeah! Keep that light running the whole time you're on the stand.
Good luck!