Coyotes nose "vs" Deers nose

Originally posted by yotes:
[qb]can you even compare a coyotes sense of smell to a deers?[/qb]
Yes you can compare them! You may not reach a conclusion but you can give your theory on which one smells better.

One depends on his nose for finding food and the other depends on his nose to not become the food. So which do you think smells better?

While I would give the slight edge to the deer I doubt that one could ever be sure of which is truly the better at sniffing things.......James L.

I have yet to see any scientific study which compares sense of smell of coyote-VS deer. I hope that someone can find such a study and post it here. Having said that, I am going to give my educated opinion. Being a bowhunter, I have a lot of experience with close encounters with deer and coyotes. I feel that I can fool a deer's nose with cover scent, but not coyote nose. I would have to say that a coyote nose is at least twice as good as that of a deer. Just my two cents worth. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

This is interesting. I havent had enough encounters with cooyotes to give my oppinion. Hopefully i will be able to soon. Thanks for you oppinions, hope there are more to come. I am intersted in what everyone has to say.

James Lindley nailed the essence quite nicely.

It depends. Better how ? What is "better". You need to define your criteria much more narrowly.

Robb,
Let me put it in layman terms for you. Which animal can detect human odor the easiest? Which animal will smell you and spook the soonest? In my own experience, the coyote will detect human odor and spook much sooner than a deer will.