Scope Recommendations?

1022DSP

Don't want to open a can of worms, but I need some advice. I have a CZ 527 in .204 Ruger that I've been having problems mounting a scope on - mostly large oculars not clearing the bolt handle. I've decided that I'd like to use a fixed power scope and it seems that the Weaver K series will fit just fine. I don't take shots much beyond 200 yards at PD size game and am wondering if a K-6 would be adequate or should I consider the KT-15.

I'm not an expert but I would think the KT-15 would be a bit much in the power range. I've found that with high magnification fixed power scopes that it is sometimes hard to find the critters you want to shoot. I always leave my adjustable scopes on low power and then zoom in on the critters once I see them. I would go with the KT-6, you should have no problem hitting prairie dogs out to 200 yards with this. Again this is based on personal preference and personal experience.

I have tried taller rings - Warne. Didn't like how high they raised the scope off the comb. Basically, I need a scope with a ocular not much larger than 41-42 millimeters. The reason why I'm thinking fixed power is that on all my variable scopes I tend to leave them at the highest settings anyway. So my thinking is why not just go with a fixed power scope and avoid some issues I've noticed with some variables such as eye relief changing, POI shifts with change in magnification, etc. At any rate, thanks for the feedback!

Last edited:
I have 2 KT-15s and like them alot a good no frills scope. I have one on a AR 15 and the other on my Ruger 22-250 and use them mostly for prarie dogs. If your using it for predetor hunting then the power factor might be kind of high. I've also had excellent customer service from Weaver.