Recoil reducers

pyscodog

I shot a few rounds of skeet this morning and a guy let me shoot his Browning. He has a recoil reducer in it and it was very pleasant to shoot. Recoil isn't terrible on my gun but his was very soft shooting. Thinking I might install one in mine. Any certain brand better than others?

SilencerCo Salvo
smile.gif

If you are shooting Skeet with a 12 ga try shooting some 1 oz and 7/8 oz loads if you can. A 7/8 oz load of lead #9 shot has about 49 more pellets per shell compared to a 1-1/8 oz load of lead #8 shot. For me 7/8 oz loads have very little recoil and 7/8 oz of lead #9 shot works great on Skeet Targets.

I have a G-Squared Shock Master on my Browning O/U that I shoot Trap, Skeet and Sporting Clays with, but they have gone up in price quite a bit since I got mine.

My son shot competitively for a few years, and I shot with him when he practiced. We both used O/U guns (Citoris) with my reloads. Neither was an issue after 100 rounds, and I can tend to be a bit recoil sensitive. Like Bob said above ..... you don't need a bunch of pellets to break clays. We shot 7/8 of #8 over a light load of AALite. It was a bit slow, but once you get the leads figured out it was money. Son could shoot 400-500 rounds a day with no complaints.

BUT ...... Are you using either a semi or pump gun? If so, the lighter loads may not cycle a semi reliably. In that case your only solution is indeed a reducer. Never used one so I can't comment on a certain brand. You might also try several different brands/loads in your gun to see if it will cycle the lighter stuff.