75 year old Bois de Arc call I made

JTPinTX

Custom Call Maker
I make a few calls here and there as a hobby. I had read about the very old, aged Bois de Arc from fenceposts that had been in the ground many years. I have heard it referred to as "green" Bois de Arc not because the wood is wet but because the minerals from the soil leach into the wood over the years and help stabilize it, and can give it unique colors. Supposedly it is very good wood for calls and sought after. So of course I wanted to try some.

I called an older rancher here that I have been calling coyotes on him for 10 years, and my dad called coyotes on him for 20 years before that. Dad passed away in 2013, him and this guy were pretty good friends. Anyways, the rancher said sure, they had been pulling and redoing a lot of fence the last couple years and he had a whole stack of old pulled "Bodark" posts behind his pens, just get what I wanted. I asked him if he thought they were 50 years old or more, and his reply was "At least 75 years on all of them, maybe 100 on some." Which was exactly the answer I was looking for.

So I went and got several good posts out of his pile and cut some blanks. The wood really turned nice. Fine grained, tight rings (you can tell it was old growth), with that dark aged look, yet also still with some lighter streaks from minerals. In my mind it is beautiful wood.

I put some on the lathe and spun up just a basic call profile. Nothing fancy, just sleek classy lines, no frills, which I thought matched the wood with it's history. Voiced it with a loud single reed. Sounds really good. I like this call a lot. Special wood from a special place to me.

ZWlkJHkl.jpg