Making a stock from scratch

pyscodog

On another site, a member has a beautiful piece of wood for a stock. I have no tools nor the knowledge or skill to build a stock from scratch. I also have no intentions of even buying the wood. I was just curious as to the cost to turn the blank into a beautiful rifle stock if you had to pay to have it done.

If you Google "rifle stock making cost" there is a pretty good guide $2000-$4000 plus the cost of the wood. Sorry I'm on my phone and don't know how to post a link with it.

Makes you miss the Herters, Fajen and Bishop shops. Herters had some beautiful walnut and maple plus a number of exotic woods that were awesome. I had a Herter J-9 with Presentation grade French walnut that was stunning. I bought it right from the Herters store in Waseca MN in the early 70s.

Yes it does make you miss them for sure. This guy has a piece of wood for sale that is gorgeous but he wants $450 for it. Then the cost of shaping it could easily make it a $2000 stock. I use to be a pretty good trim carpenter in my youth but this is waaay over my skill level.

Ain't nuthin to it. You just cut off everything that doesn't look like a stock.
grin.gif

That's about the same as machining on a $400 dollar barrel blank. I make absolutely sure I know what numbers I'm going to, BEFORE any chips come off.

LOL, my tools are a chainsaw, sledge hammer and a grinder. Maybe a screwdriver or two. When the shop moved to Kentucky they took my tools with them.

OK, maybe you shouldn't try it with those tools. I've chambered a pile of barrels, and stock making is something I'm smart enough to know that I'm not smart enough to do. I leave that to the stock makers.

If I ever tried it, I'd have to find someone with a duplicating machine and then do the final fitting.
I'm also going over to the dark side with the synthetic stuff, lately.