Brass cleaners

What is this "cleaning brass" you all speak of? My method is the easiest of them all. I just don't.

- DAA

I use a Dillon CV-500, have since 1992

But some years back I bought an US cleaner for cleaning scuba regulator parts so I could service my own regs. Since I had it, I experimented with it for brass, using some really tarnished 30-06

This cleaner uses a SS basket to hold parts. I found that this left discoloration on the brass where it touched the backet but otherwise it worked really well. I used a mix involving Dawn & Lemishine. Primer pockets were clean. Insides of cases were clean. Brass was clean & shiny.

I then tossed it all in my dry cleaner & the corn cob did remove the discoloration, brass looked great.

But old habit die hard & I still just toss it all in the Dillon & let it run for a while.

Good point Plant One, I would usually only get hand cramps individually trimming cases but I trim horse hooves for a living and have developed a grip.

Heck, why wouldnt steel wool in a rotary tumbler not work? It could be worth an expirament, the wool pads would probably have to be separated and tore up a bit but it might not need the water that SS pins need.

What Stu just said reminded me when I first started loading I picked up a jug of the liquid Iosso brass cleaner for extra dirty range cases I collected long before I started reloading. Iosso worked great but it didnt leave a polish at all.