Positioning extra hunters in a stand

redhaze

I will be taking my son and grandson to NM for a few days to hunt coyotes. I have limited experience hunting with 3 people. I understand the terrain, wind and other factors in a minimal way. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Form a close triangle where you can communicate, place the LEAST experienced shooter facing UPWIND or the direction that has the MOST VISIBILITY and time to react, always place the MOST experienced shooter downwind or the direction with the least reaction time. Let terrain dictate this.

Since your crew has limited experience and you have never hunted with this many people i strongly urge you to stay close for safety and communication.

Good luck and hopefully that grandson lays some fur down!

Last edited:
For me it really depends on the terrain. When I take two extra people I usually just do the calling as it is hard enough to get three people into position quietly.

I usually have a good idea where the coyotes are coming from and flank the caller with the shooters, just a single guest watches the downwind side of the caller. I've sat back to back on a little mound watching up wind and down.

For me each stand has its own requirements, I wish there was something easy I could tell you.

Nothing better than a hunting trip with kid and grandkid. Sounds like a good time. Be safe.

Since you're asking I'm assuming that you three don't hunt together a lot. If this is the case sitting close enough to communicate is a great idea. You might consider putting a shotgun in the hands of the least experienced and having them responsible for close coyotes over top of the call, while sitting right next to the person doing the calling.
Everyone knowing their shooting lanes and responsibilities, before you start calling, would be paramount to me.
If a particular stand doesn't accommodate three, I will call and mentor and leave the shooting to them.
Have a great time and let us know how you do.

Good advice given already.