cell phone traps

larryb

has anybody considered building your own cell phone trap using the GSM system. I have a corral trap and a six foot guillotine gate set up with a trigger wire. I'm looking at the GSM system and converting my gate to be triggered by my cell phone. If you have any ideas or suggestion feel free to shared them with me as I have never tried this before, but I believe it would allow me to trigger my trap from anywhere with my cell phone and allow me to capture more hogs at a time, rather than just shooting one or two out of the sounder...and also allow me to (hunt) from my recliner so to speak...looking forward to any comments or suggestions from you...I will be sharing any and all ideas I have on this project. I have a door popper and have already ordered a GSM unit, just waiting on it to arrive so I can get that part underway. I'm totally in the dark on how to do this but have seen a few video's on youtube...so let the journey begin...

Gman, I have ordered a GSM-CTL unit, it has (2) 30 amp switche relays in it and the cost was 100.00. I'm waiting on it to arrive, I already have a 60 lb. door popper solenoid which should be strong enough to pull the catch release, a 7 watt solar panel and (3) 12 volt batteries. Need to get the sim card and a phone and figure out how to wire it up, and put it in a weather proof box, nothing to it ...right, I'm not electrically inclined, but I do have a good friend that knows electrical, so I might be able to get this thing working. I've been running Spypoint cameras for 2 years now with no problems, so I got that end covered. So the journey continues........