Rank amature to crossbows needs help

masshunter

Brand new to crossbows, bought a Excaliber Micro 315 kit from an archery shop last spring. Great experience, they let me cock and shoot several until I was comfortable. I didn't buy broadheads at the time, because I had a Cabela gift card to use up. Anyway, I must have asked about them when I bought the bow because I wrote 100 gr on the back of the manual. Anyway I bought 100gr, but never opened the pack as I was practicing with the field points all summer. I was planning to shoot the broadheads tommarrow but the kit says I have 150 gr field points. Should I get heavier broadheads, try these, or do broadheads fly differantly ? I'm a real beginner so any help would be appreciated .

Hey Masshunter, I have an excalibur grizzly (200lb pull 305fps - thank you NY). Excalibur recommends a minimum of 350gr arrow weight for their crossbows. My diablo arrows are 250 gr and I use 150 grain field points and broadheads (408 grain total approx) so as not to be at the bare minimum they recommend so undue stress is not transferred to the limbs...hope that helps.

thanks Kec. After talking to a few other shooters, it seems I'm OK, just overthinking it. This is my first adventure with crossbows, and I have had very little archery of any kind. Good luck!

I shoot a Grizzly also and Excaliber recommends 150 grain broadheads. I shoot 150 grin Slick Tricks most of the time but bought some 150 grain Swackers(sp) to try this year. You can probably shoot what ever you want but it could void the warranty. Excalibers are bad azz bows aren't they!!!

Last edited:
In other words...shoot the same weight broadheads as Your using field tips from Your Crossbow so the point of impact is the same.If You use a heavier broadhead it won't hit in the same spot as a lighter practice/field tip.