Kirsch 2017 Video 1: 21 coyotes and more

Kirsch

Here is some recent video footage from my Pulsar Trail XQ38 scope, and my Pulsar Helion XP38 monocular. This is my first year with thermals, so be kind.

I love the Pulsars, but 2 pet peeves of mine are no audio yet, and RAV function recording only 1-3 seconds before shot. The really short clips are RAV pieces of footage. Up to this point, I have been hunting by myself (except a few stands), so the video isn't very complete. The videos will get better once my standard hunting partner can go hunting with me. Hope you enjoy watching as much as I did hunting.

Video

Ha! Blasted that skunk right up the bum.
w00t.gif
Cool vid. Thanks.

Originally Posted By: Brad BaranouskasGreat video!!!!!! Is that a 384 resolution or 640? If you had to do it over again would you go with a 50?

Most of the video is with the Trail XQ38, so 384 resolution. My Monocular is the Helion XP38 (640 core). Is there a difference, the answer is yes. The 640 is a clearer/cleaner image. However, we have shot multiple coyotes past 300 yards with the XQ38. There is no issue with shooting coyotes with the XQ line as far as seeing the coyote. I opted for high res on the monocular. This is what you are using 90-95% of the time so I opted for better resolution on the scanner. The other big debate is native mag and field of view. When I first got the scope, I was thinking maybe I should have gone with the XQ50 as it has a 2.6 vs 2.1 native magnification. As I have used it to harvest 50+ coyotes with it, I think it is about perfect. The PIP really brings the coyote in close. If I went with the 50, I maybe wouldn't need the PIP as much but field of view may be too small. Only on a few occasions while hunting did I have any issue finding an approaching or running away coyote. I would buy the same scope if doing it again.

You will love either scope. Here are the comparisons statistically between all of the Trail models: