Turkey Loads for Coyotes?????

Rusty Black

I can't find any number4 buckshot in my area...(largest legal shot) in Pa allowed.I was thinking about useing my turkey setup...Mossberg 535 Hastings .640 choke and 4,5, or 6 shot...have any of you guys tried it?My moss has killed big gobblers...out over 50 yards,but what about a coyote at 40 yards?

nope. shot size 4, 5 or 6 is not going to kill a coyote out at 40 yards.

you can order #4 buck from many places on the internet. they bring it right to you house.

Hmm, I'm pretty new to hunting coyotes with a rifle. Most of my experience has been with a shotgun. Trust me, with the right choke 3 1/2" lead 4s will level a coyote. Just need to burn some rounds and see what your pattern is doing.

Originally Posted By: PageHmm, I'm pretty new to hunting coyotes with a rifle. Most of my experience has been with a shotgun. Trust me, with the right choke 3 1/2" lead 4s will level a coyote. Just need to burn some rounds and see what your pattern is doing.

Lead #4 shot will kill a coyote if it is facing you at under 40 yards. But that does not make it a good coyote load.

Even lead #2 shot only works decent if the shot angle is perfect.

Lead BB shot is the smallest I would use on coyotes. If you reload, lead BBB or lead T shot works even better.

Number 4 buck will drop coyotes no matter which way they are headed.

i just knew there would be at least one.
w00t.gif