Why no love for the 55 gr a soft point?

FWIW, I'm still learning this predator hunting thing - still deciding where to set up stands, how to get to them, which rifle to use (and which ammo to use)...the list goes on.

My AR plinking load uses Hornady 55gr SP's (w/cannelure) and I keep around 1500 of 'em loaded at all times. I haven't had time to pattern my shotgun with any decent coyote loads and thought about using my 223 SBR for shorter range stands. I emailed Hornady to see what the velocity threshold was for proper expansion of the 55gr SP (w/cannelure). Hornady assured me that this bullet is made with a thin jacket and would expand down to 1650fps. Just FYI for those considering this projectile.

I have to add to the Hornady 55 gr. SP w/C love. I buy them by the pile, and load them as my SHTF ammo supply, plinking ammo, and if things get dry, hunting ammo. They shoot accurately in several ARs, and one Tikka T3.

I am also a fan of Hornady 50 gr. VMax, and Nosler 55 gr. BTs, in developed loads for several .22 cal rifles, but I will never be without a pile of 55 gr. SP .223 Rem. ammo, and a pile of new Hornady 55 gr SPs, for an ammo refresh.

Squeeze

Originally Posted By: pahntr760Originally Posted By: Matlock
I suppose that's part of why/how Sierra justifies charging double what everyone else does for the same bullet. OK, I don't want to start a war. No one is arguing the quality Sierra pumps out. It's good to see people like you have done the actual research.

What the heck are you talking about? What bullet does Sierra charge double for over a comparable Hornady or Nosler, or...?

You're right... I should have clarified: charging double what I want to pay
smile.gif

Originally Posted By: ackleyman I don't know how this bullet would react to a fast twist, I shot thousands in 12 and 14 twists. Accuracy of this 55g blitz lead tip is something you will just have to see for yourself...Sierra quality control in jacket uniformity is worth paying for.