We got some dang good cooks here...

fw707

Hey y'all,
I've been posting more threads and pictures of stuff here the last couple of weeks and a bunch of good cooks have been showing up with some killer food!!
I was hoping that would happen, and I hope it will continue.
This forum is for folks that like to cook. There are a bunch of those folks on here that have stayed hidden for a long time and y'all know who you are!
grin.gif

I don't care if it's a gourmet chef's meal, or just good old country po' folks cooking, I sure would like to see more folks posting their good stuff in this forum.

So here's my fancy chef effort for this evening...

A small skillet of cornbread:

And a great big pot of vegetable soup:

thumbup1.gif

I was a teacher for many years and started outdoor education programs in my school. One of our major activities in class was cooking outdoors. I would often have 100-200 students cooking on the sidewalk in front of school. The students formed small groups and planned and carried out their meals. I usually cooked something separately as a demo. My demo was sampled by student and staff and sometimes served to bus driver as a reward for getting the kids to and from school safely.
The most requested thing that I cooked (smoked) was pulled pork. Even after retirement I still get requests for pulled pork for the bus drivers end of the year party. Here is how I do it.
Use a smoker or several for a large group. I normally use water smokers that are electric, but any smoker that allows you to control the amount of heat will work.
Enough pork shoulders for your group size. I usually have 2-3 shoulders in each smoker. For parties that have 15-20 guests 3 shoulders in one smoker is enough to serve and leaves enough that many guests take some home with them.