New to Predator Masters- Question for hunting the desert

Just joined the forum after observing for several months. Thanks to all for your wealth of knowledge. I have learned much, to say the least.

I am just getting into coyote hunting and am addicted. I live NW of Tucson and have killed a couple so far. Though I have hunted my whole life (I am 51 years old), I have never hunted coyotes, so I am a newbie. My question is for you desert hunters- do you find washes are the best places to hunt, all things being equal, or are open desert areas just as good? The couple I have killed were out in the open desert scrub and one was near a wash. I apologize for my ignorance, but I'm a good student and appreciate all of your knowledge on this forum. Thanks!

I hunt the desert often and both places are a good start. Any place where the brush is taller then the surrounding areas are good places for rabbitsand such to be and in turn you will find coyotes. I typically hunt transition areas but washes, sage flats or draws. Good luck

I am not a expert by any imagination but I hunt in areas where I can get a a little elevation so I can see them in the cover coming in. Not much I go up 10-15 feet on a hill and sit in the rocks. I don't go anywhere near the top of hills as to not be sky lined. And try to call into cover watching the wind.

Welcome to becoming a member of PM and taking the plunge!

I think you have about 9 different species of predators/furbearers that you can hunt within a 50 mile radius of NW Tucson. The habitat you hunt will determine which species will likely show up when you call.