.243 Can Questions

shankbone

I'm want to run a can on my deer/varmint/predator rifle, a .243. I have a champagne appetite, but I'm a teacher. The can may spend time on my ARs as well, which I only use for predator hunting, not mag dumps.

What do you guys recommend from entry-level to $1,000, and should I only be looking at cans I can clean myself? Thanks in advance!

If your running a centerfire can only on centerfire rifles you don't need to clean it.

I would PM SKINNEY on here and talk to him about his 6MM VAPOR.

For 6.5 and down look at the SAS barricade. I run one on my 6.5cm and have been very happy with it.
It's 6" long, 10ozs, and 126 db's at the shooters ear on a 22" long 260rem.
For max flexibility you could go with a Reaper MX. It's a 30cal suppressor but would work great for .243. Getting 131 db's in a 22" 308. Per mil-spec testing.
That's 3db's quieter then a TBAC ultra 9.
As far as cleaning. You can clean most suppressor with crab cleaner, or I soak mine for 48-72 hrs in vinager when needed.
But this is only done every 3000-5000 rds or so I have found.

Feel free to call me if you have any questions.

816-718-9489
Thanks
RLTW
Steve

Last edited:
The new MX series from SAS has really set the bar on DB reduction. IMO the Reaper MX is the 30cal. can to have as the competition has got a lot of catching up to do.

Originally Posted By: 6724go with a 30 caliber can. you can use it on anything smaller.

one can, many rifles.

That makes the most sense. Thanks!

I wanted a can to run on my 243 coyote rifle and that I could potentially use on other rifles. I already had 2 7.62 cans rated for 300rum

I went SAS Barricade and asked Tim to put a 1/2 x 28 direct thread back end on it.

Works great

I had first decided on the Barricade but after the MX line came out and talking with Steve I decided on the Reaper MX.

The Reaper MX has more versatility plus it's only 1" longer and according to Steve will be quieter than the Barricade on my 6.5 Creed.