Threading 1/2-28 on a .270 or larger?

Zegle

I've been looking at suppressors for awhile now and after some research I'm wanting to get the TBAC Ultra 7 .30 cal can. I'm wanting to get the suppressor in the standard mil spec thread pitch(1/2-28) so I can use it on my AR15 and Ruger 22-250.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I should be able to thread my .270 in the standard mil spec thread pitch for the suppressor to be compatible...right?

On TBAC's website, it has the option for the 1/2-28 thread on the Ultra 7, but it has a star next to that particular thread pattern (see link)...can someone interpret what having the 223 aperture means? This little star is causing all the confusion and discontent for me.
https://thunderbeastarms.com/products/ultra-7

I'm completely new to the suppressed world but I'm very eager to learn as much as possible.

it sounds like you are going to be going direct thread? if yes then the little star does not apply to you. you wont be using their brake for mounting the can on you rifles.

the star concerns a different mounting option that uses a brake that only has a .223 caliber hole in it. that brake would not work with you .270.

I would think that you would need the 5/8" thread instead of the 1/2"

Personally I wouldn't really want to fire a 270 that has a 1/2" thread on the end of it without the cap or suppressor. I would worry about a peeling blowout if it was fired without support or reinforcement.

Originally Posted By: ZegleI've been looking at suppressors for awhile now and after some research I'm wanting to get the TBAC Ultra 7 .30 cal can. I'm wanting to get the suppressor in the standard mil spec thread pitch(1/2-28) so I can use it on my AR15 and Ruger 22-250.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I should be able to thread my .270 in the standard mil spec thread pitch for the suppressor to be compatible...right?