Bullet seating depth?

zr600

Im using a hornady locknload press with rcbs dies. Im currently only reloading for my 22-250. When seating the bullet what can u do to get the same seating depth everytime? Currently i get it close and measure it then just easily seat it till i have it were i want it. I do this with every bullet. How can i speed up the process is there a way to set a stop for my seating depth?

Are there instructions with the die set? Rest easy, there is a better way! There are 2 adjustments on the die that are lockable once set.

There are i structions but not very clear on setting the die. I have it set so it will work with out crushing my cases my cousin helped me set it he has been reloading for awhile but he is doing it the same way. Im just a beginner. Trying to learn. I can seat it way deeper then what i want what do i need to change i still have quit a bit of travel left with my press.

Don't measure off the tip of the bullets, buy an ogive gauge. Hornady makes them and Davidson makes them available from www.sinclairintl.com

I use a split neck case cut with a very thin dremel cut off wheel. Insert the bullet in the case, close the bolt, the bullet engages the lands and gets pushed back. There is a learning curve involved because if you leave the bullet sticking out too far, the lands will grab the bullet and pull it out of the case. With a little trial and error, you will be able to duplicate the OAL to the lands to the .001 consistently.

Hornady makes another tool where the bullet is inserted in a case and the bullet is pushed up till it contacts the lands, but I can not get readings that repeat to the .001 every time with that tool. Everyone is different and many, many people use this tool, I just can't get it as accurate as I can get with the split neck case method.

Learning to measure your OAL to the lands is paramount to achieving small groups as most rifles may have a very sweet spot that they like for best accuracy.