17x223 case forming

RobUSMC

Hey guys and gals!
I'm new to the site and need some help with some questions I have. I've been reloading for over 20 yrs and as all of you know, you do your research before taking on a new project.
17x223! I'm a bolt guy by heart, but have found a new love for gas guns. My question is, what is the process involved in making 223 Rem brass into 17x223?
Back ground on forming brass: 6x45, 300 Blackout.
It's not new to me, however there are very few sites that talk about the 17x223 and even less that talk about forming the brass. Any and all help will be grateful!!!

RobUSMC
EOD

Do you have a standard 223 sizer? If so, pull the guts out and use that as your first step....next step is run that brass in a 17-223 fl die with the decapping stem in it and your done.

I have found it better to anneal brass once it's formed vs before if you choose to anneal. I don't lose as much brass that way.

What are the rifle specs?

Last edited:
Two steps for me.

1. Run brass through a gutted 223 sizer.
2. Run undersized 223 brass through 17-223 sizer die.

Alternatively you could run them through a Redding Type S FL bushing die with a 220 bushing for the first step.

Greg

Rob, I do the same thing as Midwest and GL. I did try using an S bushing die to step the brass down but it was taking about 3 or so steps and did not like the out come. This is so simple even a caveman can do it.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: deaddogwalkinRob, I do the same thing as Midwest and GL. I did try using an S bushing die to step the brass down but it was taking about 3 or so steps and did not like the out come. This is so simple even a caveman can do it.

I had terrible luck trying to form it up completely using a bushing die. Thinks just didn't do well with those skinny necks for me.