Rimfire questions

spiderman

I live in Iowa and suppressors look to be coming down the road. The hunting I do the most is daytime coon calling with my Bmag. We also use HMRs and .22 mags. My scope is 2-6 power and question one is , at low power , will I see the suppressor image in the scope? 2, The Bmag I have is the skinny barrel and the diameter is quite small . Do suppressors come with different sizes of threads for attachment and if not , can barrels have a threaded "sleeve" installed to size up the diameter ? And lastly , any recommendations for suppressors for .17 WSM ,HMR ? As like everyone , I would like to keep the cost , length , and weight down to minimum . And is there different considerations if it is shared with max .22 caliber and 204/223 center fires ? Thanks to all who take time to answer. Jim

I'm no expert but I will try and help some. A 22 can normally is a Take Apart suppressor so you can clean out the lead that accumulates with un-coated bullets. A 22 can is usually shorter and smaller in diameter than one designed for a high powered rifle. When I purchased my first can for my DTech 20 Tac I asked all these questions too. My barrel is 22" long and the can is another 8" and I don't see the can in my scope using 2.5 power on the low end. This is on an AR, but I have no experience with a low mounted scope on a 22. The threads on a high powered can are usually 5/8ths X 24 or 1/2 X 28 threads, not sure if they are smaller on a 22 can. So basically I was told to get a 30 cal can for high velocity rounds and get a 22 specific can for the 22. Hope this helps a little.

Skinny should be here soon and he is a much better authority that I on this subject.