Permission to hunt

grinder67

Property that I have been hunting on for many,many years, I still get permission every year. My question is are there any laws that dictate this in any state? On one of the properties that I hunt there are a couple people that also hunt there and according to the land owner haven't talked to or asked him for ten years.The really sad thing to me is one of them is a sheriffs deputy. He came in on top of me this evening and acted like he owned the place. Very frustrating to say the least.

Written permission is always the best. Keep a copy with you while hunting the property. When that Sheriff confronts you again, ask him to show you his.

Originally Posted By: Orneryolfart357When that Sheriff confronts you again,

He's a deputy when on duty, but unless he's allowed to hunt while on duty then he's just another joe and from the sounds of it doesn't deserve much respect as a joe.

Last edited:
His job as a sheriff's deputy gives him no more rights than any other citizen when he's hunting on private property owned by somebody else.
Whether he's off duty, or if his employer allows him to hunt on duty (which I seriously doubt), he is still subject to the game laws and trespass laws exactly like any other hunter.

Last edited:
I'm not aware of a time limit on permission in New Mexico, but the law does state that if permission has been withdrawn then you can't be there. So, one has to infer that as long as you have written permission and no knowledge that it has been withdrawn, you can access the property. With that in mind, it seems like a good practice to have relatively current written permission in your possession when on private land here.