Howling for coyotes

I am new to this so im trying to find out out to do work this page.. but I have a few questions on coyote calling. Saturday I was out coyote hunting and I was using a rabbit in distress with no luck. so closer to dark I switched to a female long howl. and I had response right away. we went back and forth about 5 times and then nothing.. WHAT DO I DO NEXT? does this mean the coyote is on its way or not interested..... do I keep howling or do I shut up? help plz

Sometimes silence is golden at that point, pup distress works good too. Use the google search at the top of every page, you'll learn tons and be reading for years

thanks for the feed back I see your for PA. so your in bout the same hunting terrain as me. when you set up your hunt do hunt in the deep woods. or over an open field, if open field do you sit in the field and try n call them in to the field or more or less alone a tree line if possible?

I have a handful of the [beeep] diaphrams. Take some time to practice, the bark was a little hard for me to get at first. I get A LOT more responses to coyote vocals when using the [beeep] than I did with playing them on an e-call.

I know this is a ten year old thread but id like to hear an example of the lonely howl. I didnt see the link posted in the first post.

Go to page 11, 5th post from the bottom. There's 3 sounds posted the, 1st sound is what I would call a lonesome howl, listen to how the tail end of the howl drags out

if they're hung up and won't cross a field or whatever pick up the call and move closer or hit them from a different angle. make the think the "coyotes" they're howling at are ticked off and moving around