Southern MN

bembeaver

Anyone from Southern MN on here? Just wondering where you guys hunt and how you do hunting in this area. It seems it is a tough place to hunt and to call them in. I am still fairly new to coyote hunting but I have made many stands and have yet to kill one but have called some in just couldn't make the shot. I do not know if I am just bad or if others experience the same thing I do.

I have heard/read numerous reports that say a lot of locals in southern MN do a lot of road calling and are too stupid to realize that this is tremendously unproductive AND it educates the coyotes in the process so they become super call shy.

If you're seeing coyotes, you aren't doing things wrong. You may be doing them about as good as is possible if the coyotes are super wary and call smart.

A couple of ideas:

1. Don't be afraid to ask for permission on private land. Especially with cattle or dairy farmers as no one with cattle sees coyotes as a good thing to have around. If they seem hesitant, it may help your case if you tell them you'd be willing to hunt only with a shotgun as many cattenmen are wary of anyone shooting a rifle in areas where there are cattle. If you ask at 3 places, you will most likely get permission at least at 1 of them.

2. Forget open ground calling. This isn't Nebraska or Oklahoma with tons of coyotes who are used to living in the open. MN coyotes know if they get out into open ground they are going to get their #sses shot off. All over the state, what I hear is that coyotes in MN overwhelmingly like to stay in the cover and are very wary about crossing fields, etc.

So the bottom line is instead of trying to lure coyotes out of an old shelter belt or river bottom, go very quietly into the cover. This may involve quietly cutting some approach trails and sight lines so you can get into position quietly.