What's your favorite skinning knife?

Originally Posted By: LeadbellyHey yotehunter243 got a case similar to your k-bar you can't beat em. Got a case bulldog like smokeless to that I aired from my grandpa but its a safe queen. If I can figure out how to post pics I will share.

Well,,, get to it Leadbelly.
Everyone knows how cranky I get waiting on knife pix;)

There's a tutorial on posting pix over in the photo forum, and welcome aboard.
http://www.predatormastersforums.com/for...nt=2&page=1

I use serrated Victorinox around the head and for wringing the feet and mainly Havalon for the rest. Also like the 3- 4" Forschner knives.

Thanks for the link repete, set up a photo bucket account today I will try to post in a couple days. We're getting slammed at work this week so just hold tight.

I have been using Knives of Alaska Knives for the past 6 years..
http://www.knifehog.com/p-1747-knives-of-alaska-muskrat-knife-00069fg.aspx

The Muskrat and others are made from D2 tool steel.. That means that I can and do skin 2 elk and over 30 coyotes last year and didn't have to re-sharpen once. I sharpen them once a year.
I also use the bear cub. to do the cutting work and the muskrat to do the skinning work.
A good skinning knife should have a rounded nose on it, you get a lot less nicks in the pelts and it's easier and faster. I can go faster and don't have to worry as much. The other thing is that it should be smaller, big knives like a K-bar (i have a few of those) are nice, but when you have to do a few coyotes, you hand will get tired.. I put magnets on the side of mine so that it sticks to the skinning pole i use. I don't have to set it down.. Its right there. I also have a swing blade, and as strange as that thing looks, it just works better than anything else i have used. It's super fast and easy to follow the color lines of the fur.