Your favorite round for hogs?

Tonester

Hello all,

I wanted to ask the hunters on this board about their favorite ammo for hogs. I just wanted to gain some knowledge. I was curious if anyone has a favorite round or perhaps bullet that works well?

I am new to hog hunting & using Barnes 110gr TSX for hogs at the moment.

we hunt hogs in tight cover here. I use an open sighted Remington 7600 (pump) 30-06 with a 220gr. Remington corloct bullet for bear and hog hunting. a little over kill on the smaller ones but 200 plus pounders its just right if you want to hammer it down right there so you dont have to worry about getting dogs bit by bear our stabbed by hog tusks. most game in that sport is shot at while it is running thru the brush. in big game rifles me and my ole man has always liked corloct bullets

Hand rolled 125 Sierra Prohunters atop 50.5 grs of W-748 in my 308. 50 gr btips in AR15 cause they are accurate and they are my coyote loads. I have killed hogs with them.
If I am going hog hunting I always take the 308 in case I see a magnum. I don't like trailing them and I like to shoot at 300 plus every chance I get.
According to the main man at the property, a guy on my hog lease killed one that was 265 last year that had seven 5.56 rounds in him that had healed over. One broke the top blade off a vertebrae in his back, a couple in his hams, one against a vertebrae in his neck and several in his shield. I saw pics of the hog but wasn't there when they dug em out. If that is all true that's another reason for me to carry the 308 only.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: skullcreek
According to the main man at the property, a guy on my hog lease killed one that was 265 last year that had seven 5.56 rounds in him that had healed over. I saw pics of the hog but wasn't there when they dug em out. If that is all true that's another reason for me to carry the 308 only.