Where to go hog hunting for free???

newreartire

Hello all! I am a noob to this site and need some wisdom. I live in Idaho and me and some friends from work are thinking along the lines of going on a good hog hunt. We are up for a good road trip, so distance doesn't matter. We aren't really into the "guide thing" and don't want to have to pay to shoot pigs that a farmer wants to get rid of anyway. Does anybody have some great places to go shoot hogs? Thanks a ton!

No place I know of that would turn loose out of state hunters on their land, or even residents they didn't know.

You might have to look for some public land.

Quote: We are up for a good road trip, so distance doesn't matter.....Only because of that statement, I'll throw in that my neighbor here in FL is a big hunter with a air boat (loves to fish too) and he goes to a small hundred acre brushy patch behind a local hospital and brings home a hog just about every weekend...

If you want to come down to E. Central FL, I'll be glad to hook you guys up with him...I didn't buy a non-res. FL license, or I'd have been out with him already...

I go to south Texas every Feb/March for about two weeks. Lately, I've been getting on farms down there loaded with hogs and at no charge. Some farmers want the hogs shot and left to rot, others you can take out of the fields as long as you don't drive across. Two ranches I pay $50 a day to hunt predators and hogs. My choice.
I'm new to the forum but have hunted south Texas for decades. Keep in touch for next year if you're interested.
Oh, BTW, it's a 17hr drive for me, longer from Idaho.

Originally Posted By: YellowhammerNo place I know of that would turn loose out of state hunters on their land, or even residents they didn't know.

You might have to look for some public land.